Thursday Tunes

14 Oct

I ended up having a FABULOUS birthday with my hubby. He surprised me and took me to Cinebistro with all of our close friends. For those of you who don’t know, Cinebistro is a movie theater where you can have dinner while you watch your movie! Best of all, it’s 21 and over so you don’t have to deal with annoying youngins talking too loud or ruining your experience. We saw the Social Network, which was awesome. Would recommend it to anyone! I ordered the Fettuccine  which was oh, so delicious! Anyway, I had a great time 🙂

So I decided to post a song which means something to me once a week because it’s my blog and I can do whatever I want! I have a secret obsession with the old Mariah Carey. You know, pre-mid life crisis Mariah. Once in a while, she still does surprise me with an amazing song. Despite her life choices, she has a BEAUTIFUL voice and I consider her a full blown diva. Don’t judge me! This song is actually not so old, from her Rainbow Album. She calls it Mariah’s theme and the lyrics speak directly to my heart. Enjoy!

They can say
anything they want to say
try to bring me down
But I will not allow
anyone to succeed
hanging clouds over me
And they can try
Hard to make me feel that I
Don’t matter at all
But I refuse to falter in what I believe
or lose faith in my dreams

Cause there’s
There’s a light in me
That shines brightly.
They can try,
but they can’t take that away from me.

Oh, they
They can do, anything they want, to you.
If you let them in.
But they won’t ever win,
if you cling to your pride and just push them aside.
See I, I have learned
There’s an inner peace I own.
Something in my soul,
that they cannot possess.
So I won’t be afraid,
and the darkness will fade.

Cause there’s,
there’s a light in me.
That shines, brightly. yes
They can try, but they can’t take that away from me.

No, they can’t take this,
precious love I’ll always have inside me.
Certainly the Lord will guide me,
where I need to go.

Oh, oh, they can say.
Anything they want to say.
Try to bring me down.
But I won’t face the ground,
I will rise steadily,
sailing out of their reach.
Oh lord, they do try.
Hard to make me feel, that I.
Don’t matter at all.
But I refuse to falter,
in what I believe or loose faith in my dreams.
Cause there’s, there’s a light in me.
That shines, brightly…..yes

They can try, but they can’t take that away from me.

Leave a Reply

